living in the ‘Land of Smiles’

Chiang Mai, Thailand

Chiang Mai – a beautifully written blog about Chinese New Year

“A Little Wonderment . . . A Child’s Journey Though Chinese New Years”

Via: A Little Adrift

***

Last month’s Chinese New Year celebrations embraced Chiang Mai’s small Chinatown section with wholehearted enthusiasm. The signature red Chinese lanterns adorned every doorway.

~

Every shop entrance strung crimson bulbs from end to end. And the effect, as evening settled over Little China, was faintly magical. The tinted light tinkling out of the lanterns warred with the harsh street lights for ambient command of the Chinese New Year festivities.

~

Crowds thronged the main-stage hours before the performances and the long row of stop-light red food stalls offered up mounds of fresh, steaming food for the hungry masses gathering nearby. The mysterious preparations on stage included huge dragon heads, odd without their accompanying long dragon bodies, being unceremoniously hefted into place.

~

And that’s in that moment I wished I could spend the next hour through the eyes of a child…

Don’t stop now, you can read the rest, HERE:

http://www.lonelyplanet.com/travelblogs/241/107256/A+Little+Wonderment%E2%80%A6A+Child%E2%80%99s+Journey+Through+Chinese+New+Year?destId=357655

===

side story:

This past Chinese New Years, I had just paid my favorite barista, at my favorite Starbucks.

I KNOW she saw me drop my usual 10-baht; but she smile, and tapped the box.

I said, “what??!!”

“She said, “Today, holiday”.

I said, “Are you kidding me, EVERYDAY in Thailand is a holiday; you have January 1st New Year, Thai New Year (Songkran) , and Chinese New Year!”

She laughed, and laughed, and laughed.

.

GOOD GAWD ALMIGHTY, I LOVE THAILAND!

.

May 24, 2011 - Posted by | Starbucks | , , ,

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

