living in the ‘Land of Smiles’

Chiang Mai, Thailand

2 – NOT so savage price increase, for me anyway – Art Café

When the waiter delivered my breakfast this morning, he had to tell me the BAD NEWS.

The price of my American breakfast (scrambled eggs, bacon, two pieces of whole wheat toast, mango jam, mango juice, and coffee) was going up from 125-baht to 135-baht.

I said, “WHAT?! – WHAT?!! – WHAT?!!!”

He looked, distressed.

He looked even more distressed, when I then said, “Mei pen lai, I just won’t give you guys my standard 10-baht tip”

He then laughed when I said, “joke!”

***

125-baht @ 30.44 to the dollar = $4.11

135-baht @ 30.44 to the dollar = $4.44

===

And yes, I know I’m BAD!

March 11, 2011 - Posted by | Uncategorized

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

