living in the ‘Land of Smiles’

Chiang Mai, Thailand

Toys for the ‘nit-noys’; i.e. ‘small things’

For the last six-months or so, I been going to a nearby stuffed-animal shop, and …

No, no, no; NOT a taxidermist:  so let me rephrase that, I’ve been going to a nearby ‘stuffed toy animal’  shop.

I buy twelve, and take ’em to the pediatric unit on either the 5th or 6th floor.

I don’t have enough for all the kids, so I give them to the nurses who can make the call, ”who’s been shitty, and who’s been nice’.

The reaction from the nurses is ALWAYS the same:  BIG HUGE SMILES, wais, and sawadi-kaaaaaas!

This time I took ’em to the 5th floor.

It  was a little different this time, because one of them asked, “Why you no come last month?”

I said, “I did, but I took ’em to the 6th floor.”

She said, “Nurses on 6th floor, NO GOOD!”

laugh, laugh, lauigh

I said, “That’s weird, because that’s what they said about you”.

She said, “really?”

I said, “No,  joke”.

laugh, laugh, laugh

***

Q: How much does that cost?

A: 12 for 300 baht ($9.83)

But the real cost, ‘priceless’

March 1, 2011 - Posted by | Uncategorized |

1 Comment »

  1. Well spent. Pretty tough to quantify. Makes my day.

    Comment by Wayne Cornman | March 2, 2011 | Reply


Leave a Reply

