living in the ‘Land of Smiles’

Chiang Mai, Thailand

Chiang Mai – Samlors

11

Because they make very little money, and it’s a damn tough job, there are very few young samlor peddlers left in Chiang Mai.

—-
One of drivers I see on my rounds is a very old dude, my age, name of Tip.

We ALWAYS exchange smiles, wais and sawadi krups; and I’m usually asked, ‘Where you go?”.

Last night, walking home from dinner I just happen to have a travel brochure in my hand, so when he asked, “Where you go?”

I said, pointing to the samlor, and the photo of the Grand Palace, “How much?”.

He laughed and laughed, and pointing to his friend, said, “No, No, not me; he take you”.

***
The Grand Palace is in Bangkok, +/- 450 miles to the south.

======

Note: This whole business about Thailand being the ‘Land of Smiles’; well I tell ya what, it’s NOT a cliche.

May 6, 2009 - Posted by | entertainment, transportation | , ,

2 Comments »


Leave a Reply

